Sandpaper Reviews...

We don't TRY to be abrasive

austinliz
((2004-08-09 - 4:15 p.m.))

austinliz

Appearance
While I can�t say that I share your adoration of Axl Rose, you�ve really chosen a great design, and Axl does seem to fit right in. I wish your font was just a little bigger. As part of the layout, it�s perfect, but for someone trying to read multiple entries, it just strains the eyes too much. Then again, it could be that I am going blind. Okay, blindER. However, most normal people probably aren�t reading that many entries in a row. All of your links work. I really don�t think there�s anything I could tell you on this subject that you don�t already know, because as a reviewer and a diarist, you seem to have it all figured out.

Content
I read your most recent entry, which I found very interesting. I could be forming a bias, because I�m finding a lot of similarities to myself, and I�m all about the self-love. Then I backtracked to your (rather confounding) first entry and began checking random entries from there. I discovered very quickly that you are a really good writer. For many d-landers, keeping a diary serves as a writing exercise, and this seems to be the case with you, as well. Your way with words keeps the reader engaged even when it seems that you don�t have much to say. Your contradictions are fun, particularly this one, where you write about God and getting closure for your relationship through cybersex. For the record, I agree that cybersex is indeed miraculous. I really like the �What was Liz doing a year ago?� section of your entries, because it gives the reader a sense of depth and history. I was impressed by your farewell entry because it echoed the sentiments of many diarists, yet you came back. Keeping an online diary does subject you to stress, and pleasing readers and reviewers is sometimes more effort than it is worth. You are, however, a wonderful part of Diaryland and I�m thrilled that you didn�t make the goodbye final.

Impressions
Well, back to commonalities. There are many, most notably a love of Evanescence and Jennifer Crusie. In this entry, you mention being terrified of your �new� job. I had a job in a call center once, and quit shortly after being berated for clocking in from lunch ten seconds early. Not that that�s relevant to your review or anything.

Your struggles with the work world sound very familiar, and unlike so many people, you do seem to realize that the intangible impression you make on others is laced with melancholy and self-doubt, and that will be a scourge on your employment opportunities as long as it persists. This may be presumptuous (but hey, I�m a reviewer, I�m entitled!) but with a degree in journalism, you can do a hell of a lot better than a call center or clerical work. Contribute a few articles to smaller publications and e-zines, add that experience to your resume, and distribute it! (I used to write resumes professionally, and can help with this) Outside of Texas, even. You should really pursue writing as a career because you are good at it and I really think it will be therapeutic for you. Hey! I took an introductory psychology class, so don�t doubt me! Moving on to other subjects, bulimia is a bitch. I wish I had words that would help, but I don�t really know that there are any. I stopped just as abruptly as I�d started, but there was no specific precipitating factor. Good luck with that.

Suggestions
I only have one suggestion for you, and it�s minor. You have all of your entries archived, except for those from June 1 through today. Archive them! Otherwise� Your diary achieves what it sets out to, which is a collection of the thoughts, experiences, and exceptions that ultimately equal� you. Over all, you�ve really done a fantastic job with this diary (which you already know). I was slightly bummed because this particular review didn�t allow me to be terribly abrasive.

review by retailharlot

<- || ->




Quote

The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and if they can't find them, make them.
-George Bernard Shaw


Navigation

current
archives
reviewers
rules & scoring
request a review
help wanted
diary rings
pending
profile
email
design
host



Older Entries


shi-ou-sama - 2005-03-10
artofliving - 2004-12-22
theascension - 2004-12-22
gigamonster - 2004-11-17
darktruth - 2004-09-21