Sandpaper Reviews...

We don't TRY to be abrasive

artofliving
((2004-12-22 - 12:58 p.m.))

artofliving


Appearance
Your template is fresh. It made me feel good immediately when I opened it to the first page. I'm not crazy about pictures, especially pictures of flowers since they can be VERY generic, but y'know? It works for you. It works beautifully in fact. Bravo on your very pretty template.

I love all of your sidebar links. Very good! You have a standard menu, and your "about me" section is awesome, informative and very well organized. You have a lot of links - that which I was turned off because it was a little overbearing to me to see them all there with all of the other stuff that I so approve of but that's fine. We are all entitled to organizing things however we please.

My only complaint is that you tend to write in run-on paragraphs. That can get annoying and can make me disinterested at times.

Content
You are obviously a daylogger. But that's because you have (well, had now) a desk job and you are constantly on the computer and constantly looking for ways to blow time (kind of like me).

You have surveys galore so it's very easy to get to know you. Good.

You have a decent story-telling ability. And I read the majority of the major things that happened to you that you deemed to be important to write about.

What's up with you stealing things here? I mean, we've all been known to swipe some stuff for some shits and giggles but seriously - you took "deluxe" rocking chairs WITH THEIR CHAIRPADS from a retirement home? Come on! Stealing rocking chairs from old people is SO distasteful. COME ON.

Another thing. Revenge can sure be sweet as you detailed here but... sometimes you GOTTA practice some moderation with what you do or don't do. I know... I KNOW... it's really shitty how the whole job situation worked out for you. But no matter how mad you get, you cannot do things that will potentially blacklist you because it really IS a small world and that means that the potential for something to come back to haunt you is great. Taking the mouse balls would have a little evil but just enough to say a hearty "Fuck you, too." Printing all of those copies of your resume - I say you are entitled to that as well. Meeting with the ethics committee? That's reasonable. But writing "your side of the story" and printing it out and distributing it to the damned world (within your company) really might speak badly about you (and I am putting that mildy). AND paging false things over the intercom or messing up transfers to the ER is a bit immature. It's all over now but I hope that you were just venting about all of this stuff and it didn't actually happen. Because you seem like a nice gal and it would be a shame if your bad judgment in a time of anger and rage came back to haunt you when you were... say being reviewed by Harvard admissions and one of the committee members happens to be the cousin of one of the people who saw how unreasonably far you took things? Yeah...

And just a few more things. Sorry about your thumb incident. What more can I say about that than that fucking bites! Also, do you hide your relationship with your "fabulous" boyfriend like how it seems to be written here? Please tell me you don't. Please PLEASE tell me that's not the case.

Impressions
You're a very nice girl (save the stealing rocking chairs from old people thing). You are ambitious and intelligent and introspective and you like kids AND your own parents. All of these are great things that you ought to be proud of about yourself. Especically the liking your own parents thing. That is really good!

You are young but not irritatingly so. That means, I actually DID read and WAS interested in your diary. I did get lost and was uninterested sometimes but I think that's because of your run-on paragraphs. Overall you kept me reeled in well enough. Snaps to you for that!

Something else kind of unrelated: I like your name - Miranda. That's a very pretty name and completely off the subject of this review.

One more thing. Are you really emo? You mentioned in your profile about one of your diaryland buddies "using ice cream to heal [your] broken hearts." Are you emo? Because I didn't pick that up AT ALL about you.


Suggestions
Archive your past entries. It's not hard - thanks to Andrew. And seeing as how you are a self-proclaimed organizational freak, this should make your diary that much better in your eyes.

Also, don't sweat the whole realizing that 25 people from your graduating senior class are married by now and don't sweat whether Ddot is "the one" or not. Have patience for love like you have patience for Harvard. Because just like Harvard, the love/marriage thing is worth waiting for and it's not going anywhere without you. Relax! There's no reason to be in a rush about it. You just turned 21? Plenty of time, girly, PLENTY of time.

Oh... and about the four stars that you receieved? It's only because I wasn't SO drawn into your diary that I could just keep reading entry after entry without getting bored and skimming. I got bored sometimes, that's all.


reviewed by imaphatpig





<- || ->




Quote

The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and if they can't find them, make them.
-George Bernard Shaw


Navigation

current
archives
reviewers
rules & scoring
request a review
help wanted
diary rings
pending
profile
email
design
host



Older Entries


shi-ou-sama - 2005-03-10
artofliving - 2004-12-22
theascension - 2004-12-22
gigamonster - 2004-11-17
darktruth - 2004-09-21