Sandpaper Reviews...

We don't TRY to be abrasive

theatrbee
((2004-08-09 - 4:11 p.m.))

theatrbee -

Appearance
I strongly dislike your template. Or maybe just the picture that you used because I like the quote that you have up and the navigation isn't bad. But, especially after reading through your entries, I think that you could use a much more fitting template/picture for yourself. I understand that you have a penchant for the dramatics since you are into theater and all but I also pick up that you are kind of light-hearted. The marriage of these two things just isn't justified by the inital impressions of your diary. However, snaps to you for posting a pic of yourself in your profile - that's good!

Content
Bravo for content. I didn't read through all of your archives but what I did read was excellent. It seemed to paint a pretty accurate picture of who you probably really are in real life. And your writing voice in excellent as well. It is consistent and not annoying in any way despite your claims in your initial request that you are "whiny." Some of my favorite things to note are:


  • your honesty about caring about what your stats are. This might seem like a small thing but it's so not! There are so many people out there who are all, "Yeah, I keep a blog but I don't care what other people say about it." One thing to say with regard to that: BS! I'm sorry, but we all need validation and don't try to be all modest and "cool" about it. People need to take a tip from you and come clean about the fact that they too care about their stats.

  • You admit that you are female, that you get your own rocks off and you like it and also that you think other people ought not be shamed and try it for themselves. Rock on! Keep spreading the good word.

  • You don't stress over typos and grammar. Excellent! Some people are sticklers about this but I think that the presence of them (typos and grammatical errors) help add to the authenticity of who the person is through their writing. Makes sense?

  • You are relatively quirky and unique without it seeming forced. You seem to just be who you are very naturally and you have a great curiousity about you. I am referencing your postings of your newfound talent and also your use of aliases for no good reason other than your own amusement. Additionally, you also use lovely words like "breatsticle." I LOVE creativity to the point of making up new words. Nice.

Impressions
I suspect that you are good people. You are honest and open and you also have some major cajones (read: balls) for doing such things as punching holes in your face. My only major complaint is that I had to go through your archives to come to this conclusion. That's the whole point of a diary, right? Well... yeah... BUT it's important to grab attention right from the getgo with all that you can muster. In other words, it wouldn't hurt if you added an "about me" page to your navigational bar other than just the diaryland profile (this could be a list of things, trading card, bio, etc). And also... I know I know, give it a rest, make the template so that the focus is more on your writing (read: you) and less on the blasted picture/template. It's only far to YOU.

Suggestions
Other than what I have already mentioned above, I think that it could help if you had a cast page. It's a little bit cookie cutter to do but it helps in the long run I think. Something else that could be good would be if you made a separate page for pictures so then people wouldn't have to root through your entries to find out what you look like or what others in your life look like. Just a thought.

I guess that's it. Other than maybe good job! And thanks... it's been a pleasure.

P.s. I forgot to mention this. If you are going to use the expression "Baby's daddy," please know that you are wrong and correct yourself! The correct expression is "Baby daddy" without the "baby" being possesive. I'm not trying to be all ghetto-speak throwing the book at you, but I like you and you ought to know the right way to do it.



review by imaphatpig

<- || ->




Quote

The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and if they can't find them, make them.
-George Bernard Shaw


Navigation

current
archives
reviewers
rules & scoring
request a review
help wanted
diary rings
pending
profile
email
design
host



Older Entries


shi-ou-sama - 2005-03-10
artofliving - 2004-12-22
theascension - 2004-12-22
gigamonster - 2004-11-17
darktruth - 2004-09-21