Sandpaper Reviews...

We don't TRY to be abrasive

gigamonster
((2004-11-17 - 1:27 p.m.))

gigamonster

Appearance
It�s pretty. Specifically, I think your layout is classy, which isn�t something I run into too often on d-land. The picture is both snarky and endearing, and keeps �classy� from becoming �stuffy.� Your links work and there are no annoyances, major or otherwise.

Content
In a word? Boring. I started with the most recent entry and worked my way backwards. By the time I reached this entry, I was halfway asleep. In my zombie-like state, I decided to leave the rest for another day. Now it�s another day, and I�m skimming.

This entry was thought-provoking. I�ve never fully understood the urge to tell lies in one�s own diary, but I know it happens quite a lot. My perspective on it, not that it matters, is that the lies people tell are just as informative as their truths. Go ahead, tell me lies, but make them beautiful lies. Let me learn something from them.

Impressions
Your writing lacks emotion. I�m not sure if it�s a facet of your personality, or if you are passionless in general. It�s not necessarily a bad thing, because it�s only a diary. I find it slightly odd, though, that where most people experience highs and lows, and write about them, most of your entries can be easily classified as �more of the same.� Of course, perhaps your writing outside of this diary is filled with passion� I�m just commenting on the diary. But it seems like you are just daylogging, filling space, and I can�t quite figure out why you even keep a diary.

The most energized entry I read was this one. It helps that I agree with the views expressed, but even if I completely disagreed, I�d be happy to see you expressing something.

Suggestions
I�m not quite sure what to suggest. Reading your diary, it would seem that you are content with �more of the same.� To make it a more enjoyable read, I would suggest putting up an �about me� page, because it allows people to become more personally invested in your story. Other than that? Well, passion is always good, but if that�s not who you are, then what can you do? My final analysis is that your diary seems to work for you, and that�s what really matters. I didn�t especially love it, but it wasn�t bad or obnoxious.


reviewed by retailharlot



<- || ->




Quote

The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and if they can't find them, make them.
-George Bernard Shaw


Navigation

current
archives
reviewers
rules & scoring
request a review
help wanted
diary rings
pending
profile
email
design
host



Older Entries


shi-ou-sama - 2005-03-10
artofliving - 2004-12-22
theascension - 2004-12-22
gigamonster - 2004-11-17
darktruth - 2004-09-21